China

Beijing (Day 4): Peking University, HNCERI, and Great Leap Brewery

Today, my class and I relaxed from our cultural visits around Beijing and were given the opportunity to experience Peking University, HNCERI, and the Great Leap Brewery.

  • Visit Peking University

Founded in 1898, Imperial University of China was renamed in 1912 to Peking University and is considered the Harvard of the Eastern Hemisphere. Peking University was founded upon the rich cultural history and academic heritage of China. Based in Beijing, one of the world’s most populous cities with a population of 21 million, Peking University is located in the North West of Beijing in the University district of Haidian, and is adjacent to Zhongguancun Electronics District, the silicon valley of China. The campus, known as Yan Yuan(the garden of Yan) is on the beautiful former site of the Qing Dynasty royal gardens. The university campus area has an interesting mix of ancient structures and modern buildings which make it a very fascinating place to visit.

My thoughts on Peking University…..

To be honest, I was not very impressed with Peking University at all. To me, being highly ranked and considered the Harvard of the East, I expected a lot nicer location and people.

  • Location
    • The campus is approximately retangular with the main gates in the middle of the east, south, and west sides. It is a haven of relative peace and quiet, but lurking outside the brick wall, which surrounds the enclosed campus is the noise and bustle of modern Beijing. To me, I felt like I was in a whole other world because when you looked outside the walls, you could see a place and people that were not so fortunate to become educated or even hold a job. It was truly sad. Additionally, I was taken aback, when there was young boys right around my age guarding every entrance of the school. Thus, I felt uninvited and almost offended. I put this thought into perspective….

What if police surrounded every entrance of the University of Pittsburgh only allowing those who pay and fund the school to enter?

How would I feel? What would I think?

Yes it might add safety and security to someone, but does not invite someone and give a family feeling to me.

  • People
    • A total of 29,584 students of which 14,465 are undergraduate students, 10,031 are postgraduates and 5,088 are doctoral students. Around 2,000 international students enroll each year at Peking University. The students’ academic backgrounds covered: engineering 21%; business & management 42%; computer science 4%; finance & economics 25%; liberal arts & other 8%
    • After getting through security, I was already put off by the atmosphere of the school, but I tried to stay positive only hoping it might get better. Unfortunately, it did not. After two presentations by the students and a brief history of the Opium War by Professor Guo, which I thought they did a great job of presenting their work at the University, my classmates and I were treated to lunch. Upon entering the cafeteria, it was like Market and Perch, the largest campus dining halls on Pitt’s campus were on steroids. It felt like there were thousand of people in there at once. First, I had to complete the monumental task of selecting food to eat. This was difficult because every which way I was being jostled, pushed, and skipped. Next, I had to find a place to sit down and eat. When I looked out at the massive dining hall, people seemed to occupy every nook and cranny in the place. I finally found a place with one of my classmates Mo.
    • Mo and I decided to join two other girls at a table and maybe start a conversion with them since we knew they had to pass a language test to get into the top university in China. Being a real friendly and genuine person, Mo simply said hello. To my surprise, these girls barely looked up from their plate to acknowledge us and simply keep eating and minding their own business. Not set off by this lack of human decency, Mo asked how they felt the Gaoko was for them. As short and few words as possible, the girls responded easy. At that point, Mo and I decided it was not worth our time to try to engage in communication if the other party simply did not want to do so.

We finished eating and had the rest of the time at Peking University to explore and take pictures.

  • HNCERI

After Peking University, my class and I were taken to a SOE, called HNCERI. HNCRI is China’s Huaneng Group directly under the clean energy technology research and development institutions. Mainly engaged in coal-based clean power generation and transformation, renewable energy power generation, pollutants and greenhouse gas emission reduction and other areas of technology research and development, technology transfer, technical services, key equipment development and project implementation.

My thoughts on HNCERI……

Being my first ever company visit, I did not have any expectations coming in. But, the company HNCERI definitely did not present themselves the way I thought they would. When we arrived around 2pm, the place seemed like it was just placed there with no life of any kind around. When you think about it, what company in the United States would have no workers around, especially during a normal working hour day? None. So this struck me as very odd.

Additionally, the company was not at all ready for us. My class and I were placed in a room with not enough chairs for us and a presentation that clearly the owner had not made or practiced. I could barely hear let alone understand what he was saying and I felt distant and confused. Finally, we were split into groups and showed around the facility and, yet again, I could not hear or understand anything anyone was saying. I was very disappointed in the SOE and really hoped that not all company visits would be like this!

Crossing my fingers…..

  • Great Leap Brewery

At this point in the trip, all I wanted was a huge juicy burger (even though I gave meat up for Lent), french Fries, and a Milkshake (even though I gave desserts up for Lent). It was to that point where every meal was family style and we were getting served the same food. I wanted Western food so bad. Thus, when we were told we were goes to a gastropub a smile formed from ear to ear!

Take a great Leap, when your Young and Fat

About

Craft beer is more than just a product at Great Leap Brewing. It is a responsibility. Before autumn of 2010, craft beer in Beijing was a far off dream or a recollection of home for many expats. Since pouring our first pints of Honey Ma Gold, Pale Ale #6 and the East City Porter on a fateful autumn evening, we have gladly carried the responsibility of building a craft beer community in Beijing.

Great Leap beers proudly incorporate traditional Chinese ingredients and boast flavors and aromas unique to the Middle Kingdom. Each of our beers is created with the goal of showcasing the finest aspects of Chinese history and culture.

They set out with the goal of brewing world-class beers, of which Beijing would be proud. Now it is their goal to put Great Leap beer in the hands of as many people as possible, both in China and around the globe.

My thoughts on the Great Leap Brewery…..

Well they did not have burgers or milkshakes…. but they did have pizza and eggplant! Thus, I was satisfied and really enjoyed my meal and time at the Great Leap. The owner made everyone feel at home and gave us tours of the Brewery! I really enjoyed everything… plus the flight of beer I had, which made the meal that much more enjoy able. The selection of beer I had was

  1. Banana Wheat
    • Made with 100% domestic wheat and barley malt, the Banana Wheat is our classic Hefeweizen. Brewed with a traditional Bavarian wheat yeast to bring out natural banana flavors and subtle spice, the beer is balanced and lightly sweet.
  2. Cinnamon Rock Ale
    • The Cinnamon Rock Ale is an amber ale brewed with whole bark Chinese cinnamon and Chinese rock candy. This ale finishes dry with a subtle spice, and the rock candy ferments fully to remove any lingering sweetness. Made with 100% locally malted barley and 100% local Qingdao Flower hops from Xinjiang and Gansu.
  3. Iron Buddha Blonde
    • The Iron Buddha Blonde ale is infused with Iron Buddha oolong tea from Fujian Province. Floral and clean, Iron Buddha tea adds a flowery note at the end of a pleasantly hopped and flavorful ale. Made with 100% local malts and hops.
  4. Liu the Brave Stout
    • Named after our founder’s father, Liu the Brave is the title bestowed upon our flagship stout series. A combination of local and imported chocolate and roasted malts provides robust chocolate and coffee flavors. The Nitro pour accentuates Liu the Brave’s creamy texture with a surprisingly smooth drankability. Brewed twice every year to bookend the winter season.

Overall, I loved all the beer I had but the Banana Wheat, Iron Buddha Blonde, and the Liu Brave Stout are my favorite!

Leave a comment